Welcome to Clay County Medical Center

Phone : 785-632-2144 | Patient Portal | ONLINE BILL PAY



State Recognition From BPW

Clay County Medical Center received the State BPW/Kansas Business of the Year Award, presented for businesses with more than 15 employees by the Kansas Chapter of Business and Professional Women’s Organization.  The award was presented at the 98th Annual State Convention held in the Capital Plaza Hotel on Saturday evening, June 3rd. 

Representative Susie Swanson and Senator Tom Hawk joined CEO Austin Gillard and Marcia Newell for the formal presentation of the award.

Clay County Medical Center was first nominated for the local State Business of the Year Award by the Business and Professional Women’s Organization in Clay Center. The selection criterion for those nominated at the State level focuses on promoting the advancement of women in the workplace. Businesses are judged on the following criterion:

  1. Has exhibited sensitivity to needs of female employees.
  2. Has provided outstanding opportunities for upward mobility and additional training for female employees.
  3. Has provided opportunities for development of new female employees.
  4. Has provided support for dependent care.
  5. Has established liberal parental leave policies.
  6. Has upgraded pension plans for female employees.
  7. Has entered into a business/school partnership for the purpose of providing resources, training, or expertise to a school to make its academic program more responsive to student needs and employer expectations.
  8. Has established a job evaluation system that creates salary levels that provide equal pay for equal work and allows for salaries based on comparable worth.

“We are honored to receive such a prestigious award.  As the second largest employer in the County, we also take pride in the number of professional women who have chosen CCMC for employment – comprising nearly 90% of our workforce.  Women outnumber men in supervisory or department leadership roles as well”, said Austin Gillard, CEO.

Back Row: Dr. LewAnn Schneider, (Past President); Jim Garbarino; Janice Dunn; Chuck Dunn; Dana Rickley, (Treasurer); Janet Thurlow; Chris Anderson; Middle Row: Senator Tom Hawk; Mary Garbarino, (President); Lisa Gingles; Representative Susie Swanson; Carolyn Chaffee; Front Row: Marcia Newell and Austin Gillard, CEO Clay County Medical Center